Click on image for full screen view.

Oak species
Quercus species


There are 38 Texas oaks that are considered trees. All oaks are divided into two groups: the white oak group and the red or black oak group. White oaks produce acorns annually, the leaves have rounded lobes without bristle tips, the inside of the acorn cup is smooth, and the bark is generally whitish-gray and scaly. Red or black oaks produce acorns that take two years to mature, the leaves are sharply lobed with spines at the tips, the inside of the acorn cup has dense hairs or fuzz, and the bark is black or dark gray and furrowed.

Plant Habit or Use:


Flower Color:

Blooming Period:

Fruit Characteristics:



Plant Character:

Heat Tolerance:

Water Requirements:

Soil Requirements:

USDA Hardiness Zone:

Additional Comments:

Index of Scientific Names | Index of Common Names | Photo Gallery Index