In May of 1718 Spanish explorers arrived. The first of five missions, San Antonio de Valero, also known as the Alamo, was established near the river's headwaters. Adept at living in dry climates, the Spanish began constructing and diverting San Antonio river water into a network of acequias, or stoned lined ditches, that served as San Antonio's water system for the next hundred years.